Image

Happy V-Day to Yourself

10 Feb

It’s unavoidable; everywhere you look, Valentine’s Day is all around you. But why does that have to be such a bad thing? After all, does it have to be only about romantic love? I remember when I was a little girl, my mom would always give me Valentine’s cards and a small gift because in Mexico it was also a day to celebrate platonic love.

Don’t get me wrong – I can’t wait to share the day with Mr. ShuGar, the love of my life.

However, I am also taking the time for some self-love and not self-loathing. How often do we pamper ourselves? I decided to take a trip to the mall in search for some pop of color in my life.

Maybelline's Orange Fix

Maybelline’s Orange Fix

Inspired by Beyonce’s inauguration nails, I went shopping for orange nail polish. I loved how it looked on her skin tone and, as another woman of color, I thought it could look sexy on my nails too. Nail polish can be pricey these days. No need to worry – Target to the rescue! I bought this orange nail polish for only $2.99 and it’s fabulous! I can’t wait to model my nail a la Queen Bey.

MAC's Cremesheen Glass "Double Dare" and MAC's "Girl About Town" Lipstick

MAC’s Cremesheen Glass “Double Dare” and MAC’s “Girl About Town” Lipstick

My next mission was to find some color for my lips. I know we all have our simple lipsticks that we use daily to get us through our work week. But why not spice things up and add some bold colors to our lips? I was inspired by several images on Pinterest, but I was concerned with finding the right colors to flatter my carmel skin. I decided to go to MAC because they have such fun, bright colors.

After a couple of trials & consulting with the MAC girls, I chose the above pink lipstick and complimenting lip gloss. You first apply the lipstick (you can use a lip brush) and then use the lipgloss to add some shine. The pink I chose brings a lightness to my face and makes me feel like I am reliving the 80’s; in a good way, of course. It’s a whimsical pink and it’s quickly become one of my favs!

Sephora's Red Cream Lip Stain & Sephora's Glossy Gloss

Sephora’s Red Cream Lip Stain & Sephora’s Glossy Gloss

I then walked over to Sephora in the hunt for a red lip that wouldn’t look tangerine on my face. Mission accomplished! I wanted a vintage feel and something that would remind me of one of those Vargas girls. You first apply the red lip stain and then dab it with any clear gloss. The Sephora lady also said you can outline your lips with a liner before applying the lip stain. I love what a pop of red can do to your face! I finally found a red that didn’t look too dark on my face. I  used Gwen Stefani’s look as an inspiration.

I do not claim to be any sort of makeup guru. In fact, I consider myself challenged in the cosmetics department. It’s an art form that I hope to master one day. But, I love educating myself on ways to accentuate my features and I have fun doing it! All the above items were $20 or less, so you can pamper yourself and still be on a budget.

This V-Day, or leading up to it, treat yourself to something nice – whether it’s makeup, a massage, a new pair of shoes or taking time to just “be.” You earned it. You don’t have to spend money to pamper yourself. It’s nice to take some time and do what you love or have wanted to do for some time. We seldom take the time to love ourselves. Happy Heart Day to Us! You deserve it!

(All photos taken by Peter Shushtari)

One Response to “Happy V-Day to Yourself”

  1. Must Have Boxes February 12, 2013 at 12:27 am #

    All of the beauty products look fab!

    – KW
    musthaveboxes.com

Leave a comment